Senate Leader Atkins Appoints New Members to the Newly Formed Community College Student Success Funding Formula Oversight Committee

January 9, 2019

SACRAMENTO – Senate President pro Tem Toni Atkins (D-San Diego) announced the appointment of the following individuals to the Community College Student Success Funding Formula Oversight Committee:

  • Bonnie A. Dowd, Ed.D. – Dr. Dowd is executive vice chancellor of business and technology services at San Diego Community College District. She is also a part-time faculty member at San Diego State University.
  • Valerie Johnson – Ms. Johnson is a student at Crafton Hills College and San Bernardino Valley College. She is also president of the Crafton Hills College student senate, and former vice-president and director of system affairs for the student senate for California Community Colleges.
  • Michele Siqueiros – Ms. Siqueiros is president of the Campaign for College Opportunity. Ms. Siqueiros also serves on the board of Alliance for a Better Community and on the Strategic Advisory Council of the Public Policy Institute of California.
  • Manuel S. Payan – Mr. Payan is a Grounds/Equipment Operator at San Joaquin Delta College.

The committee was formed pursuant to Assembly Bill 1840 (Chapter 426, Statutes of 2018) which specified that the Senate Rules Committee would appoint four members of the community to this committee. In the appointments made, Senate Rules made every effort to ensure geographic representation, diversity in background and expertise.

Members of the committee serve without compensation but may be reimbursed for the actual and necessary traveling expenses plus $100 per diem.  


Website of President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins: