Senate Leader Atkins Announces Committee Membership, Presiding Officer Updates

February 4, 2022

SACRAMENTO – California Senate President pro Tempore, Toni G. Atkins (D-San Diego), today announced changes to the Senate’s committee membership assignments and updates to the Senate’s Presiding Officer roster. The committee membership changes will go before the Senate Rules Committee for adoption next week.

Standing Committees

Budget and Fiscal Review

  • Appoint Senator Richard D. Roth (D-Riverside). 

Governance and Finance

  • Appoint Senator Anna M. Caballero (D-Merced) as Chair to replace Senator Mike McGuire (D-Healdsburg). 


  • Appoint Senator S. Monique Limón (D-Santa Barbara) to replace Senator Thomas J. Umberg (D-Santa Ana).

Budget Sub-Committees

Budget Subcommittee #4 on State Administration and General Government

  • Designate Senator Sydney Kamlager (D-Los Angeles) as Chair. 
  • Appoint Senator Richard D. Roth (D-Riverside). 

In addition to these committee membership changes, President pro Tempore Atkins also is pleased to announce that Senators Josh Becker (D-Menlo Park) and Lena A. Gonzalez (D-Long Beach) will be added as Presiding Officers over Senate Floor proceedings.  


Toni G. Atkins is President pro Tempore of the California Senate. Having previously served as Speaker of the California Assembly, she began her tenure in the Senate in 2016. As Senator for District 39, she represents the cities of San Diego, Coronado, Del Mar and Solana Beach. Website of President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins: