Senate Leader Atkins Congratulates California Senate Fellows, Science and Technology Policy Fellows on Legislative Contributions

August 15, 2022

SACRAMENTO – Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins (D-San Diego) released the following statement following a recognition ceremony held during floor session today to honor the 2021-22 California Senate Fellows and the California Council on Science and Technology Policy Fellows placed in the Senate:

“Each of our Senate Fellows and Science and Technology Policy Fellows have played a critical role in the work we’ve been able to accomplish this session. While working as full time staff for 11 months in the Senate, they gained a practical understanding of the legislative process and enjoyed a unique professional development experience, while also helping us do high-level government work for the people of California. All are eager, energetic, and talented individuals who all told, worked on dozens of bills and resolutions. Their dedication to their work and to our state is commendable, and we look forward to seeing the success they achieve in the future.”

The 2021-22 California Senate Fellows include: Katherine Albiani (Office of Senator Rosilicie Ochoa Bogh), Emma Burrows (Office of Senator Richard Pan), Kai Cooper (Office of Senator Mike McGuire), Laura Paloma Elizalde (Office of Senator Anna Caballero), Hla Elkhatib (Office of Senator Dave Cortese), Evan Fern (Office of Senator Monique Limón), Stella Fontus (Office of Senator Scott Wiener), Cianan Gaitan (Office of Senator Tom Umberg), Samantha James (Office of Senator Josh Becker), Stephanie Jimenez (Office of Senator Nancy Skinner), Emily Miller (Office of Senator Brian Jones), Katelyn Pedersen (Office of Senator Andreas Borgeas), Sophia Quach (Office of Senator Steven Glazer), Quincy Stivers (Office of Senator John Laird), Manson Tung (Office of Senator Patricia Bates), and Cynthia Yepez (Office of Senator Susan Rubio).

The 2021-22 California Council on Science and Technology Policy Fellows in the Senate include: Stephen Cutie, Ph.D. (Office of Senator Richard Pan), Andrew Dawson, Ph.D. (Senate Housing Committee), Hannah E. Frye, Ph.D. (Senate Business, Professions, & Economic Development Committee), Zoe R. Guttman, Ph.D. (Office of Senator Portantino), and Jacob O’Connor, Ph.D. (Senate Environmental Quality Committee).

To watch footage of the recognition ceremony, click here.


En Español

Toni G. Atkins is President pro Tempore of the California Senate. Having previously served as Speaker of the California Assembly, she began her tenure in the Senate in 2016. As Senator for District 39, she represents the cities of San Diego, Coronado, Del Mar and Solana Beach. Website of President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins: