Senate Rules Committee Appoints Ann Notthoff to California Coastal Commission, Joy Sterling to State Coastal Conservancy

March 15, 2023

SACRAMENTO – Today, the Senate Rules Committee, chaired by Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins (D-San Diego), appointed Ann Notthoff to the California Coastal Commission and Joy Sterling to the California State Coastal Conservancy.

“Ann Notthoff has decades of experience working on a broad range of public health and environmental protection issues,” Pro Tem Atkins said. “Her wide-ranging expertise on coastal and marine management issues will enhance the California Coastal Commission’s continued efforts to protect and improve our coast and the ocean for future generations.”

Ann Notthoff served the Natural Resources Defense Council for nearly 40 years, most recently as Senior Western Advocacy Director, before her retirement in 2020. She was a founding member of the California League of Coastal Protection, previously served as Northern Vice President for the California League of Conservation Voters Board, and currently serves as Board Chair of LandWatch Monterey County. She served as a Senate Rules Committee appointee on the State Coastal Conservancy from 2005 until 2023.

Ann Notthoff lives in Carmel Valley and the term is four years. Compensation is $100 per diem and actual and necessary expenses.

“Joy Sterling is a respected leader in her community and a dedicated advocate for local coastal economies,” said Pro Tem Atkins. “I am confident she will continue to prioritize responsible stewardship of our natural lands and waterways through her work on the California State Coastal Conservancy.”

Joy Sterling is the Chief Executive Officer and Partner of Iron Horse Vineyards, where she has served since 1985. Previously, she was a Deputy Bureau Chief at ABC Network News. She serves as a member of the State Board of Food and Agriculture, Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Task Force on Connectivity for Precision Agriculture, California Wine Institute, Sonoma County Vintners Association, North Bay North Coast Broadband Consortium, and California Broadband Council Advisory Board.

Joy Sterling lives in Sebastopol and the term is four years. Compensation is $100 per diem and expenses.


Toni G. Atkins is President pro Tempore of the California Senate. Having previously served as Speaker of the California Assembly, she began her tenure in the Senate in 2016. As Senator for District 39, she represents the cities of San Diego, Coronado, Del Mar and Solana Beach. Website of President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins: